Iconic Tourist Spots


Iconic Tourist Spots

10 prominent tourism sites to be developed into iconic tourism destinations: Shri K. J. Alphons

The development of 10 prominent tourist sites into iconic tourist destinations in the country is part of the Budget Announcements of 2018-19.

The Ministry of Tourism has identified following prominent tourist sites for development based on the criteria of footfall, regional distribution, potential for development and ease of implementation:

i.          Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh)

ii.         Ajanta and Ellora (Maharashtra)

iii.        Humayun Tomb, Qutub Minar and Red Fort (Delhi)

iv.        Colva Beach (Goa)

v.         Amer Fort (Rajasthan)

vi.        Somnath and Dholavira (Gujarat)

vii.       Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh)

viii.      Hampi (Karnataka)

ix.        Mahablipuram (Tamil Nadu)

x.         Kaziranga (Assam)

xi.        Kumarakom (Kerala)

xii.       Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar)

The development of iconic tourist destinations will be implemented under the ongoing Swadesh Darshan Scheme of Ministry of Tourism. There is no separate allocation of funds for this project.

This information was given by Shri K. J. Alphons, Union Minister of State (I/C) for Tourism in a written reply in Lok Sabha today.