Entries by 01 prakash

The Formation of the Muslim League (1906) in Indian History

The Formation of the Muslim League (1906) in Indian History: All India Muslim League was founded under the Leadership of Aga Khan to divert the Muslims from the National Political Movement. On December 30th Nawab Salimulla Khan of Dhaka became its first President. Muhammed Iqbal, who presided over the Allahabad session of the League in […]

HN Kunzru in Indian History

HN Kunzru in Indian History: He founded the Seva Samiti at Allahabad in 1914 with the objective of organising social service during the natural calamities and promoting education sanitation, physical culture etc.

Deva Samaj in Indian History

Deva Samaj in Indian History: It was started in 1887 by Shiv Narayan Agnihotri at Lahore. The religious text of this Samaj was Deva Shastra and the teaching Devadharma.

Jyotiba Phule in Indian History

Jyotiba Phule in Indian History: Belonging to the low caste of Mali from Maharashtra, struggled against upper caste domination and Brahamincal supremacy through his Sathyashodhak Samaj founded in 1873. He wrote Ghulam-giri in 1872 exposing the conditions of the backward castes. He pioneered the Widow Remarriage Movement in Maharashtra and worked for the education of […]

Young Bengal Movement in Indian History

Young Bengal Movement in Indian History: Started by Henry Vivian Derozio, teacher in the Calcutta Hindu College. His followers were known as the Derozians They attacked the old traditions and decadant customs. In 1828 he started the Academic Association.

Theosophical Society in Indian History

Theosophical Society in Indian History: The Theosophical Society was founded by Madame Blavatsky and Col. H.S.Olcott in Newyork in 1875. In 1882 it shifted its head quarters to Adayar near Madras. Ramakrishna Mission in Indian History Dr.Annie Basant came to India in 1893, was its notable President. In 1898 she started the Central Hindu School at Benaras, it […]

Ramakrishna Mission in Indian History

Ramakrishna Mission in Indian History: Shri Ramakrishna Paramhamsa (1834 – 1886) was born in Kumarpukur village in the Hoogly village of Bengal. His early name was Shuddirama Gadhadhar Chatterjee. He was a priest in the Dakshineswar Kali temple. So he is called the Saint of Dakshineswar. The most famous disciple of Ramakrishna was Vivekananda (1861 […]

Arya samaj in Indian History

Arya samaj in Indian History: It was founded by Swami Dayanand Saraswathi in 1875. He considered Vedas as eternal and infalliable and said ‘Go back to Vedas’ Dayanand Saraswati (1824 – 1883) was a Sanyasi from Gujarat. He was the first to teach an aggressive, reformed and militant Hinduism. Dayanand, was known in his early […]

Prarthana Samaj in Indian History

Prarthana Samaj in Indian History: Founded in 1867 in Bombay by Dr. Atmaram Pandurang (not by MG Ranade) as an offshoot of the Brahmasamaj. It was later joined by M.G. Ranade and R.G. Bhandarkar.

Rammohan Roy (1772 – 1883) and Brahmo Samaj in Indian History

Rammohan Roy (1772 – 1883) and Brahmo Samaj in Indian History: Raja Ram Mohan Roy is known as the father of Modern India, ‘Herald of New Age’, ‘Bridge between Past and Future. ‘First Modern Man in India’ Father of Indian Renaissance, Pathfinder of his Century etc. Believed in monotheism and opposed idol worship. Established the […]